

ACS Physical Division Awards

The American Chemical Society's Physical Division Award in Theoretical Chemistry

When asked to contribute \$90,000 toward establishing an on-going funding stream for the <u>Telluride School on Theoretical Chemistry (TSTC)</u>, the <u>Physical Chemistry Division of ACS</u> decided to create a new award to honor theoretical chemists who have not yet won an ACS National Award and to tie this new award to TSTC. Each year, the division selects an awardee who is then invited to TSTC where he or she will present a seminar and receive the award from the TSTC Board Chair.

Award Recipients

2019

No recipients in 2019

2017

David Reichman, Professor of Chemistry at Columbia University

<u>Dave Thirumalai</u>, Professor of Chemistry at the University of Texas at Austin

2015

Horia Metiu, Professor of Chemistry at the University of California, Santa Barbara

<u>Douglas Tobias</u>, Professor of Chemistry at the University of California, Irvine, received the award "for theoretical studies that have revealed new and unexpected aspects of ions at interfaces and membrane-bound proteins, and their impacts on atmospheric and biological systems.

2013

<u>Gregory A. Voth</u>, Haig P. Papazian Distinguished Service Professor of Chemistry and the James Frank Institute at the University of Chicago, has research interests that include multiscale theory

and computer simulation of biomolecular and soft matter systems; proton and charge transport processes in chemistry, biology, and material science; and complex liquids and solvation phenomena.

2012

<u>Anna Krylov</u>, Professor of Chemistry at the University of Southern California, works in the area of theoretical and computational quantum chemistry, specifically, theoretical modeling of open-shell and electronically excited species.

2011

<u>James L. Skinner</u>, Joseph O. and Elizabeth S. Hirschfelder Professor of Chemistry at the University of Wisconsin Madison, whose research interests include theoretical chemistry of condensed phases; non-equilibrium statistical mechanics, chemical reaction dynamics; dephasing and relaxation processes; and linear and non-linear spectroscopy.

2010

<u>Kenneth Jordan</u>, Distinguished Professor of Computational Chemistry at the University of Pittsburgh, whose research is focused on understanding charge accommodation by H-bonded networks, in particular, excess photons and electrons in water, chemical reactions on solid surfaces, and the properties of gas hydrates.

2009

<u>Peter Rossky</u>, Marvin K. Collie-Welch Regents Chair in Chemistry at the University of Texas at Austin. His research at Texas is focused on understanding the underlying molecular events occurring during chemical processes in condensed phases, primarily in liquids and other amorphous condensed phases.